City Gym news is the way we connect with you. Whether we are sharing important gym information, bragging on a member's achievements, divulging gym tips, or examining an interesting topic  - we select each post because we are passionate about what we do at City Gym.

Meet Trent, CGKC Staff!

Trent F. & Tiffany Spriggs

Where are you from?

I was born and grew up in Topeka, KS .

What was your education and/or occupation prior to/in addition to City Gym?

I attended Kansas State University, graduating in 1996 with a Bachelor of Science in Pre-Physical Therapy and Life Science. I attended Wichita State University for my Masters in Physical Therapy. I graduated in 1999. I worked as the Director of Physical  Therapy at Advance Rehabilitation in Topeka  for 7 years before moving to Olathe, Ks. I worked for Athletic and Rehabilitation Center for 10 years. After practicing for 17 years in outpatient orthopedic physical therapy, I decided to become a “stay at home dad” in October of 2016.

Tell us about your family! 

I am married to Jodi F., also a physical therapist (we met in grad school). We have to boys, Braxton and Broderick (Brody). Braxton is 13 and Brody is 10. My parents still live in Topeka and Jodi’s parents live in Overland Park.

What is your role at City Gym?

I perform general facility maintenance, equipment maintenance, and custodial duties.

What made you want to work at City Gym?

After getting to know ownership, primarily through my wife Jodi, I respect their dedication to health and fitness,  conviction and activism toward social injustice, and commitment to equality and respect for all people. I knew that  I wanted to be part of that, and hopefully help make a difference.

What do you enjoy most about the City Gym community?

I enjoy speaking with and getting to know the members and the staff.  Everyone in the gym shares a common goal of improved health and fitness.

What do you do in your free time/What do you enjoy? 

I enjoy date nights with my wife, spending time with my 2 sons , practicing baseball with my boys, traveling with my family (we just got back from 2 weeks in Hawaii), organic gardening, working and cars, bicycles, motorcycles (or anything mechanical), fishing, hiking, and exercising.

What is your favorite thing about KC / favorite things to do in the city?

I love the Kansas City Royals. I try to attend as many games as possible and if I’m not there, I am watching or listening to the games. We enjoy trying new places to eat, live music, and exploring the outdoors.

Anything else you would like the CGKC community to know about you?

As a physical therapist for 17 years in outpatient orthopedics, I treated musculoskeletal pain and dysfunction. I primarily treated shoulder injuries and post operative shoulder rehabilitation. I enjoy learning about, discussing, and teaching biomechanics, physiology, anatomy.